SUMMARY ,REPETITION

Ժամանակահատված ՝ Նոյեմբեր 1-5

 

Present Simple,Present Continuous exercises հղումով՝

 

Ex. 1 Complete the sentences.

Use the present continuous form of the verb in brackets.

1. You are using my mobile phone!

2. My dad is washing his car.

3. It is not raining today.

4. Whois she chatting to now?

5. What are you doing at the moment?

6. We are sitting on the train.

7. The students are having lunch in the canteen.

8. ‘Are you making dinner?’ ‘Yes, I am.’

 

Ex.2 Present Continuous — Positive and Negative

Make the present continuous, positive or negative

1) I am studying at the moment.

 

I’m not studying at the moment.

 

2) I am not sleeping.

I’m not sleeping.

 

3) You are playing badminton tonight.

 

You are not playing badminton tonight.

 

4) We are watching TV.

We are not watching TV.

 

5) She is not working in Spain.

She is working in Spain.

 

6) He is not waiting for the bus.

He is waiting for the bus.

 

7) They are reading.

They aren’t reading.

 

8)We are not going to cinema tonight.

We are going to cinema tonight.

 

9) You are not reading the newspaper.

You are reading the newspaper.

 

10) She is eating chocolate.

She is not eating chocolate.

 

11) I am not living in Paris.

I am living in Paris.

 

12)We are studying French.

We are not studying French.

 

13) They are not leaving now.

They are leaving now.

 

14) They are living in London.

They are not living in London.

 

15) He is working in a restuarant now.

He is not working in a restuarant now.

 

16) I’m not meeting my father at four.

I’m meeting my father at four.

 

17) She is not drinking tea now.

She is drinking tea now.

 

18) She is playing the guitar.

She is not playing the guitar.

 

19) We are cooking.

We are not cooking.

 

20) He is walking to school now.

 

He is not walking to school now.

 

Ex.3 Continuous — Questions

Make the present continuous — ‘yes / no’ or ‘wh’ questions

1) What time are you going to the cinema?

2) Why are you studying?

3) When are you leaving?

4) Are you smoking?

5) Is he playing tennis later?

6) Are you going shopping at the weekend?

7) Are you drinking wine?

8) What are you drinking now?

9) What are you thinking?

10) Is she working in an office at the moment?

11) Are they studying Portuguese?

12) What time is she coming?

13) Where are you playing tennis tonight?

14) Are you meeting your friends on Friday?

15) Are you reading now?

16) Where are you going now?

17) What are you doing?

18) Is she living in London?

19) Are they studying now?

20) Are you eating cake?

 

Ex. 4 Choose Present Continuous or Present Simple

Choose the present simple or present continuous — it could be positive, negative or question

1) You don’t like chocolate.

2) She is not studying at the moment.

3) We often go to the cinema.

4) He usually does his homework.

5) They don’t eat rice every day.

6) We don’t study every night.

7) Do you like spicy food?

8)Does she go to Scotland often?

9) Is he eating now?

10) We are going to the cinema this weekend.

11) They are studying now.

12) I clean the kitchen every day.

13) She works every Sunday.

14) We are not sleeping now.

15) I am going on holiday tomorrow.

16) How long is she staying in London?

17) I often read at night.

18) We don’t drink much wine.

 

Present Simple

 

Ex. 1 Change the verb into the correct form:

 

I don’t ride horses.You don’t sell cars.He doesen’t bring gifts.She doesen’t take pictures.It doesen’t cost so much.We don’t seem so happy.They don’t buy new products.Michael doesen’t dance.Michel doesen’t run fast.Tim and Kate don’t work every day.Lucas and Clara don’t eat meat.I don’t swim much.You don’t ski at all.It doesen’t hurt.We don’t give up

 

Ex.2 Questions with do or does

 

Do you write with a pencil?Does your father often make breakfast?Do your teachers always check your homework?Do you and your sister feed the pets?Do you upload pictures?Does your friend visit museums?Do your cats climb trees?Do you learn to cook at school?Does your sister play badminton?Do your grandparents go on holiday in winter?

 

Past Simple, Past Continuous exercises հղումով՝

 

Ex.1

 

1) I heard a new song on the radio.

2) I read three books last week.

3) They spoke French to the waitres.

4) He understood during the class, but now he doesn’t understand.

5) I forgot to buy some milk.

6) She had a baby in June.

7) You lost your keys last week.

8)They swam 500m.

9) I gave my mother a CD for Christmas.

10) At the age of 23, she became a doctor.

11) I knew the answer yesterday.

12) He told me that he lived in Toronto

13) We lent John £200.

14) She drank too much coffee yesterday.

15) The children slept in the car.

16) He kept his promise.

17) I chose steak for dinner.

18) The film began late.

19) We flew to Sydney.

20) They drove to Beijing.

21) He taught English at the University.

22) I sent you an email earlier.

23) We left the house at 7am.

24) He felt terrible after eating the prawns.

25) She brought some chocolates to the party.

 

Ex.2 Past Simple — ‘Wh’ Questions

Make past simple questions

 

1) Where did you go to school?

2) When did she arrive ?

3) Why did he eat so much?

4) What did they do yesterday?

5) Who you met at the party?

6) How did she come to work this morning?

7) Where did I leave my glasses?

8)When did he get home last night?

9) What did you do at the weekend?

10) Why did she get angry?

11) Who they talked earlier?

12) What did we do last Christmas?

13) Why did it rain on my birthday?

14) How did she finish so quickly?

15) Where did he go after the class last week?

16) What did I do last Tuesday?

17) When did you start your job?

18) How did she get here?

19) What did he do last summer?

 

Ex. 3 Past Continuous — Questions

Make past continuous ‘wh’ or ‘yes / no’ questions

 

1) When you arrived at the party was Alan dancing?

2) When you arrived at the party was Susie drinking gin ?

3) When you arrived at the party were John and Ann singing?

4) When you arrived at the party was Luke talking to the girls?

5) When you arrived at the party was Jodie putting on make up?

6) When you arrived at the party were we cooking?

7) When you arrived at the party was Jane playing the guitar?

8)When you arrived at the party was David reading a book?

9) When you arrived at the party was Francis sitting in the corner?

10) When you arrived at the party was everybody having fun?

11) When I saw you and Lucy last night, where were you going?

12) When I saw you and Lucy last night, what were you doing?

13) When I saw you and Lucy last night, who were you meeting?

14) When I saw you and Lucy last night, what was Lucy wearing?

15) When I saw you and Lucy last night, what were you eating?

16) When I saw you and Lucy last night, what were you drinking?

17) When I saw you and Lucy last night, why was Lucy smoking?

18) When I saw you and Lucy last night, who were you talking to?

19) When I saw you and Lucy last night, what were you carrying?

20) When I saw you and Lucy last night, how was Lucy feeling?

 

Ex. 4 Past Simple ‘Be’ Positive and Negative

Make the past simple with ‘be’

 

1) It was cold yesterday.

2) She was hungry.

3) We were late for the meeting.

4) I was tired last night.

5) The exam was difficult.

6) They were in Berlin.

7) You were in the library when I called you.

8) The holiday was fun.

9) He was early for the interview.

10) The people we met last night were French.

11) That woman wasn’t Spanish.

12) Julie wasn’t late for the class.

13) The food wasn’t very good.

14) They weren’t my uncle and aunt.

15) I wasn’t rude to the waitress.

16) The test wasn’t easy.

17) We weren’t tired when we arrived.

18) They weren’t on the bus when I called.

19) You weren’t here when she came.

20) He wasn’t my boyfriend.

 

Ex.5 Past Simple — Negative

Make the past simple negative

 

1) I didn’t go out last night.

2) You didn’t come to the party.

3) She didn’t love chocolate as a child.

4) He didn’t like sport.

5) We didn’t study for the exam.

6) They didn’t cook at the weekend.

7) Lucy didn’t meet her friends last week.

8)I didn’t stay at home.

9) You didn’t do your homework.

10) John didn’t work in the bank at the same time as me.

11) They didn’t play tennis yesterday.

12) We didn’t go on holiday last year.

13) Julia and Anne didn’t clean the house at all.

14) She didn’t cry much as a baby.

15) He didn’t drive to work.

16) I didn’t remember to buy milk.

17) You didn’t wash the dishes.

18) David and I didn’t dance at the party.

19) They didn’t play the piano.

20) It didn’t rain yesterday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *